“G.I. Joe: Retaliation”

G_I_JOE-RETALIATION-Poster

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: Last night I got to see the Hasbro movie “G.I. Joe: Retaliation” which is a sequel to the 2009 film “G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra.” It stars Dwayne Johnson (Snitch, Tooth Fairy), Channing Tatum (G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra, 21 Jump Street), Adrianne Palicki (Red Dawn (2012), Friday Night Lights), Byung-hun Lee (Red 2, G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra), Jonathan Pryce (Pirates of the Caribbean, Bedtime Stories), and Bruce Willis (Die Hard series, Over the Hedge). This movie takes place after the first one where Duke (Tatum) becomes captain of the G.I. Joes. When finished with a mission to obtain a nuclear weapon in Pakistan, the president orders an airstrike on their camp, killing every Joe operative on the premises (including Duke) except for three. They were framed for the crimes against the country resulting in the president having them killed. The three that survived were Roadblock (Johnson), Jaye (Palicki), and Flint. After this happened, “Snake Eyes” was put in a facility where they held Cobra Commander and Destro. This turned out to be a trap by Storm Shadow who dressed up as Snake Eyes to break out the Cobra Commander. When they break out, Cobra Commander unleashes satellites around the Earth known as “Zeus” that hold missiles that could blow up any part of the world in a minute. He holds this against all world leaders to give their allegiance to him or he will blow up their country. It is up to the Joes to stop Cobra before it’s too late. I thought the movie was good, but it would’ve been better if I saw the first movie before this again to refresh my memory since I haven’t seen it since it first came out. Other than that the action was great. I recommend this to any G.I. Joe fans out there. FINAL SCORE: 85%= Juicy Popcorn

One response to ““G.I. Joe: Retaliation”

  1. Pingback: GI Joe: Retaliation – Movie Review | His Master's Review·

Leave a Reply

