“Man of Steel”

6q5O947363

BONUS MOVIE REVIEW: I’ve been waiting three long months to see this movie and now I have finally seen it: “Man of Steel” which stars Henry Cavill (Immortals, Stardust), Amy Adams (Enchanted, Catch Me If You Can), Michael Shannon (Kangaroo Jack, Premium Rush), Diane Lane (Unfaithful, The Perfect Storm), Russell Crowe (Gladiator, A Beautiful Mind), Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix, Mystic River), Antje Traue (Pandorum, 5 Days of War), Christopher Meloni (Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, 42), and Kevin Costner (Dances with Wolves, Waterworld). I used to think not much of Superman. I didn’t hate him or dislike him, I just never thought of him as a cool superhero since he has many powers. But, since I got my hands on the TV show “Smallville” two years ago, I have gotten to a liking of Superman and what he does making me really wanting to see this movie. Basically this movie is a revamping of Superman (Cavill) by telling of how he got to Earth and before he got into the Daily Planet. The only exception to this is that his foe is not Lex Luther, but a kryptonian general named Zod (Shannon). Before the planet krypton met its fate, he was sentenced to the phantom zone for going against the high power of krypton and killing Jor-El (Crowe). Soon after Kal-El (Superman) was sent to Earth, Zod vowed to find him and suck the essence of krypton that was put into Kal-El so he could be what he is. After thirty-three years Zod found where Kal-El was living and went after him, bringing chaos to Earth giving Superman the job of saving everyone including his new lady friend Lois Lane (Adams). I thought this Superman movie was great. I based a lot of stuff off of the show “Smallville” because that seems to be the only background of Superman known to me, which has been proven true since I knew a lot of the things that they talked about in the movie making me feel smart. The action scenes were fantastic, and thankfully there was a lot of them, and the performance was great too (especially Russell Crowe playing Jor-El). The downsides for me of this movie was that, for one, I didn’t like the musical score that much. Don’t get me wrong, the music playing was good, but they played the same two tracks over and over again throughout the movie and my mind started to focus on that. Another was that Jonathan Kent (Costner) was a complete strict and jerk like guy to me. I liked the one in the show “Smallville” (forgive me for referring to this show a lot) better and it seemed that he put too much on Clark when he was a child. Other than those two complaints, I can’t think of anymore off the top of my head. A big plus for me in this movie was having Zod be the bad guy instead of Lex Luther again. That was a really good plan in this movie. Overall the movie was really good and I recommend any superhero, DC, or any Superman fan to watch it! FINAL SCORE: 85%= Juicy Popcorn

Leave a Reply

