“Brick Mansions”

Brick-Mansions-2014-Movie-Poster

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: I haven’t been able to post my reviews lately because I have lost WiFi over the past week and I have to go to school to get them done. With that being said, the movie I saw Friday is called “Brick Mansions” which stars Paul Walker (The Fast and the Furious, Eight Below), David Belle (District B13, Babylon A.D.), RZA (Pacific Rim, Django Unchained), Gouchy Boy (Max Payne, The Last Kiss), Catalina Denis (Sleepless Night, Coursier), Ayisha Issa (Warm Bodies, Immortals), Carlo Rota (The Boondock Saints, Saw V), Andreas Apergis (X-Men: Days of Future Past, White House Down), Robert Maillet (300, Sherlock Holmes), and Bruce Ramsay (Hellraiser: Bloodline, Alive). The movie is set in a dystopian Detroit in the future of 2018. Detroit as gotten so bad because of crime that the people decided to close off a section of the city called the Brick Mansions, which now houses the most dangerous criminals. Undercover cop Damien Collier (Walker) has a job to bring a drug kingpin Tremaine (RZA)into custody, but to get around in Brick Mansions without getting killed he needs the help of an ex-convict named Lino (Belle). Lino needs to get to Tremaine because he took his girlfriend so he accepts Damien’s request. Together, they go into Brick Mansions, having trouble around every turn.

brick-gun

I didn’t plan on watching “Brick Mansions” on Friday at first. When the movie I wanted to see wasn’t in the Redbox, this one was my other option other than “Draft Day.” After picking it up, I looked on IMDB to see that it got a very low score, having a 5.7/10. This set my expectations really low for the film, making me think that it will be so bad that it’s funny. I was wrong. This movie actually did well in my opinion with the story being an okay one. It’s not the best story I’ve ever seen, but it’s not the worst either. The action scenes were superb, and there were a lot of them. Seeing Paul Walker and David Belle jumping off walls and punching people in the face looks awesome every time. The acting was also really good and Paul Walker of course did a fantastic performance. I would have to say that the cons of this movie would be how they didn’t give the Brick Mansions residents realism. They are all supposed to be broken and drug addicts, but for some reason, towards the end, they all became the good guys and acted all good and nice. Another con would have to be that this movie felt sped up which ties in with the last con. There was a lot of action like I said before, but there was so much that it took over the story line. The story is okay, but it would’ve been better if they focused more on the background of everything rather than showing fight scene after fight scene. Overall this movie was better than what critics made I to be and you should try it! Final Score: 74%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

Leave a Reply

