“Snowpiercer”

snow-piercer-poster03

MOVIE REVIEW: A couple of nights ago, I got to see the movie “Snowpiercer” which stars Chris Evans (Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Fantastic Four), Kang-ho Song (The Host [2006], Memories of Murder), Ed Harris (Gravity, A Beautiful Mind), John Hurt (Alien, Hellboy), Tilda Swinton (The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, Constantine), Jamie Bell (Jumper, The Adventures of Tintin [2011]), Octavia Spencer (The Help, Fruitvale Station), Ewen Bremner (Pearl Harbor, Black Hawk Down), and Ah-sung Ko (A Brand New Life, Thread of Lies). This movie is set in a post-apocalyptic world where the Earth has frozen over, leaving the last of humanity to survive on an ongoing train. The poor lives in the tail section of the train with very harsh conditions while the rich people live in the front of the train with several luxuries. It centers on a man named Curtis (Evans) who makes a plan to storm through the train with everyone in the tail section to claim the whole train as their own so they don’t have to live in their awful conditions. Tragedy awaits them at every turn though, and the more they travel through the travel, the more dangerous it becomes.

37066-snowpiercer-snowpiercer-wallpaper

I heard a great deal of this movie. It got great reviews from what I read and I really wanted to see it because of them. This movie’s concept is something special. I’ve seen quite a but of post-apocalyptic movies, but none like this. The story is very well written with ideas flowing and plot twists put in. The acting was fantastic. I thought that this was probably Chris Evans’s best performance that I have ever seen. I didn’t know much of the other actors and actresses in this film except for a few, but they all did great as well. The action and special effects in this movie were also terrific, especially the scene were they go under a tunnel and fight in the dark against people with night vision goggles. Not only was the story good, but the characters themselves were done fantastically. They flush out the characters very well in the story, giving all of them a bad past and giving them the need to fight. There were some cons that I saw in this movie though. The first would be that this movie began to drag in parts in the middle. While watching the beginning, they set it up so early to make me think that it would end soon, which I thought was odd, but it still went forward in story. It basically stretched for me, but only in few parts did it do this. Another com would be the cussing. Rated R movies have cussing and I get that, but some of it is just random and unnecessary. The last con, which is the biggest, would be the end. The ending disappointed me. Just to point out to people, this movie doesn’t have a happy ending. I get that in reality, there isn’t always happy endings, but when you have characters that fight to get freedom on the train and it ends up being thrown away, it gets bad. When an ending is bad for a movie, but the movie is good before then it makes it hard to review the movie. This happened with “The Mist.” I thought the story up to the ending was okay. Not great, but it wasn’t burnt popcorn. But once I saw the ending, it left a sour impression on the whole thing. This movie is remarkable in the story until the end. The ending to me is like the icing on the cake. If you make a great story, but have a unsatisfying ending, it feels like it was all for nothing. Before going into this review, I was going to give this movie a 75%, but after remembering the movie, I’m going to give it a little more points. Overall, this movie is really good and I recommend anyone to watch it! FINAL SCORE: 83%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is a trailer:

Leave a Reply

