“X-Men: Days of Future Past”

X-Men-Days-of-Future-Past-Poster-High-Res

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: Tonight, I sat down to watch the movie “X-Men: Days of Future Past” which stars Hugh Jackman (The Wolverine, The Prestige), James McAvoy (Wanted, Gnomeo & Juliet), Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave, Prometheus), Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games, Silver Lining’s Playbook), Halle Berry (The Call, Cloud Atlas), Nicholas Hoult (Warm Bodies, Jack the Giant Slayer), Ellen Page (Inception, Juno), Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones, Elf), Shawn Ashmore (Smallville, X-Men), Omar Sy (The Intouchables, Micmacs), Evan Peters (Kick-Ass, American Horror Story), Josh Helman (Jack Reacher, Animal Kingdom), Patrick Stewart (Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: First Contact), and Ian McKellen (The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Da Vinci Code). This movie takes place in the future where futuristic, unstoppable machines known as Sentinels rule the Earth. They were made by humans to destroy the Mutants, but got out of hand and killed humans that got in the way. With many mutants already dead, the X-Men look to find a new solution: to go back in time to prevent the machines from ever advancing. Kitty Pryde (Page) can only send back one person, and because the Sentinels were made in the 70’s, it would be catastrophic for any mind to travel back that for, leaving only one man for the job: Wolverine (Jackman). He has to go back to the 70’s and convince a young Charles Xavier (McAvoy) to help him stop Mystique (Lawrence) from killing the Sentinels’ creator, Dr. Bolivar Trask (Dinklage). If she does, she will be caught and studied, giving scientists the genes they need to finish making the Sentinels and Earth will be forever doomed.

hugh-jackman-wolverine-x-men-days-of-future-past

I have never seen an X-Men movie before, just to put that out there. I have seen bits and pieces of the first one, the third one, and “First Class.” I have seen all the Wolverine movies though (I reviewed “The Wolverine”) though. I also have the general idea of what happened in the X-Men movies, but not entirely. I thought that it was, at first, a bad decision to go ahead and watch this movie because I wanted to see the others, but there was nothing that I felt interested in to see. The story of this movie was great, giving off a suspenseful tone and providing an overall well-rounded super hero movie. They even didn’t confuse me at all with the whole time jump situation. The action scenes were epic and awesome, especially the special effects, which were some of the best I’ve seen. The Quicksilver (Peters) scene in the Pentagon was amazing to watch with the detail in CGI and special effects. The acting was also fantastic as always (you can’t go wrong with Hugh Jackman as Wolverine). Even though I haven’t seen the other movies, this one held up on its own and with that, 75% of the movie was its own story without the tie-ins from the others. I only had one problem with this movie. It is that the story felt like it dragged (I say that a lot about movies don’t I?). What I mean by that is there was one point in the movie where I checked how much longer the movie had to go for. I’m not going to count the other 25% of scenes where I had to watch the other movies and how I didn’t get some references because it was my fault for not watching the other movies before this one. So there you have it! Overall this movie was great and I recommend any superhero fan or X-Men fan to check it out! FINAL SCORE: 89%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

2 responses to ““X-Men: Days of Future Past”

  1. Pingback: Juicy Reviews Milestone: The Road to the 200th Review | Juicy Reviews·

  2. Pingback: Special Notice | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

