“The Sixth Sense”

the-sixth-sense-movie-poster-1999

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: To start off March, I watched the movie “The Sixth Sense” which stars Bruce Willis (Die Hard, G.I. Joe: Retaliation), Haley Joel Osment (Secondhand Lions, A.I. Artificial Intelligence), Toni Collette (Little Miss Sunshine, The Way Way Back), and Olivia Williams (An Education, The Postman). The movie is about a troubled child psychologist named Dr. Malcolm Crowe (Willis) who tries to help a kid named Cole (Osment) that has the same problems as a former patient of his that he failed to help. He thinks that curing Cole’s problems will redeem him for the mistake he made with the patient who had to same symptoms. It’s not easy though because when he finds out what Cole’s problem is, it is very hard to help him.

large-sixth-sense-blu-ray6

I’ve never seen this movie before, but have heard a lot of good talks about it as well as references. They were all true because this movie is really good. The story is very gripping, not missing a beat and dragging the viewer into the story in a very dramatic and surreal way. It is a very deep story and can get intense, especially towards the middle which is a very good thing because it got me on edge. The characters are well-developed and you can connect to them easily, wanting to follow them on their journey through the even that the movie bestows. Not only the characters, but the acting is phenomenal. All the acting is great, especially Haley Joel Osment whom, for a kid, did a fantastic job. Out of this whole movie, I found only one con. That con is that this movie is predictable. I don’t know if anyone else felt the same way, but there is a plot twist at the end of the movie and I figured it out about ten minutes into the film. I didn’t know what the plot twist was, but I had a good feeling what it was and I was right. Although it was cool that I was right, I would’ve liked it to be less noticeable so I would not be thinking about if I was right other than focusing on the plot at hand. Other than that, this movie is an amazing experience and anyone who hasn’t watched it should see it! FINAL SCORE: 94%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

2 responses to ““The Sixth Sense”

  1. Good review, and an amazing film. I agree on most points. Superb acting…Haley Joel Osment for a child his age was amazing. I would disagree on the plot twist. That was the hook that this movie was famous for. Most who see it, don’t get it that early…unless a friend had told them, or they have heard about it. Good job picking it up that early.
    One of my all time favorites.

  2. Pingback: ‘Unfriended’ Review | I See Movies·

Leave a Reply

