“Bottle Rocket”

184036.1020.A

GREEN JEANS MOVIE REVIEW: “Bottle Rocket” stars Luke Wilson (Old School, Legally Blonde), Owen Wilson (The Cable Guy, The Big Year), Robert Musgrave (Drillbit Taylor, Idiocracy), Lumi Cavazos (Bless the Child, Como agua para chocolate), James Caan (Elf, The Godfather), and Andrew Wilson (Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums). It is directed by Wes Anderson (The Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Grand Budapest Hotel). Arthur (Luke Wilson) is a seemingly sane guy who leaves a mental hospital on his own because he feels like he needs to do something with his life. His answer lies with his friend Dignan (Owen Wilson) who organizes a 75 year plan of heists that they can do to make a living. Dignan is more crazy than Arthur and his shenanigans and stupidity puts them in a tough situation when they get stranded at a motel. From that point on, this plot goes several directions.

Bottle-Rocket-owen-wilson-31260319-1920-1080

I am not going to sugar-coat this. This movie will mess up your head. Not in the sense of it will physically make you go insane, but it will confuse you for a majority of the movie. In the beginning, I understood what they were doing. Of course details were a bit off, making me wonder what is the big picture that they are going for, but overall it was great. Once they got to the motel, things went off the rails. They went through so many plot points that I couldn’t comprehend what was going on. It didn’t really display a destination, but more of a journey into two guys’ lives for a month (or however long the movie took place). The story was random and weird, but for the most part it made me enjoy it. Surprisingly it was hilarious and I laughed for most of the film. The acting was great, especially since it was basically the beginning for Luke and Owen Wilson’s careers as well as Wes Anderson’s as a director. With the many reasons why I loved this movie, there are many cons about it that you plainly see. One being how you will get lost in the plot once you reach past the middle, which is a huge one. Another would be how there are some shots that don’t make sense, like close-ups on things that have nothing to do with the story or the crazy telephone scene where Anthony was calling the motel and the camera shots were all over the place. It also had moments that made no sense like when their boss started to hurt a guy after just talking to him or how he threw a random party in his apartment (or wherever they were). With all these cons you would think it would get burnt, but the more I think about this movie, the more I appreciate it. I had a grand time watching it and it kept my interest the whole way through. I feel that in a way, the randomness was to bring the comedic feel rather than off writing. Yes, I got lost in places, but throughout the movie it didn’t matter because I liked it and to me this film is a hidden gem. I will never understand the parts that I didn’t get no matter how many times I watch them, but I will still laugh and throw it to the wind (or laugh at how stupid it is). Overall, if you ever find a way to watch this film, do so, because I’m sure that you will enjoy it! FINAL SCORE: 85%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

Leave a Reply

