“Foxcatcher”

Foxcatcher_PosterENG2_MF

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: Last night I watched “Foxcatcher” which stars Channing Tatum (Magic Mike, Jupiter Ascending), Steve Carell (Little Miss Sunshine, The Way Way Back), Mark Ruffalo (Begin Again, The Avengers), Sienna Miller (Stardust, Casanova), and Vanessa Redgrave (Mission: Impossible [1996], Howard’s End). Based on a dark true story, “Foxcatcher” is about an Olympic gold medalist for wrestling named Mark Schultz (Tatum) who forms tragic friendship with a multi-millionaire named John Du Pont (Carell) who sees promising in the wrestler. What starts out as a great bond turns dark really fast when Du Pont starts to discourage Mark, turning to his brother Dave (Ruffalo) to take them to the Olympics. Both Mark and Dave soon realize how messed up Du Pont is, having to stay with him through this journey towards the Olympics.

foxcatcher 1

Man was this movie creepy. I got a very distinctive vibe off of this movie and it can go either way for me. There really isn’t much of a plot line and what you really pay your money for is to hear the dialogue, which is very interesting. This movie is very realistic and it gives a very depressing and weird tone to it. The acting is superb with everyone hiding behind their characters so well. I mean, Steve Carell did such a good job that I got the heebie jeebies just looking at him and hearing him talk. I don’t know what to say about this movie. What I noticed is how quiet this movie is. There’s really no soundtrack to it except for a few scenes and what you are really hearing are people talking, making it all the more real and all the more powerful (depending on how you take it). I would say that the main issue I had with this movie was the vibe it gave me. I don’t expect every movie to be happy, but man did this movie make me feel sad. Not deeply, but this movie is dark. I really don’t think that there is one moment in this film that you feel safe because of how creepy it is. I like the tone of it in general, but at times it just messed with my head. The second, and last, con would be how it can drag in some areas of the plot. With all dialogue in this movie, it is kind of expected for scenes to become dull while viewing. Even though this movie was a little more dark than I expected, or maybe even wanted it to be, it was still pretty good overall and I’m sure quite a bit of people will like it. FINAL SCORE: 80%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

Leave a Reply

