“The Cobbler”

COBB_OneSheet_FM1.indd

MOVIE REVIEW: No my friends, I am not talking about a delicious dessert (bad joke, I know). “The Cobbler” stars Adam Sandler (Big Daddy, Just Go With It), Steve Buscemi (Grown Ups, The Big Lebowski), Method Man (The Fast and the Furious, Gone in Sixty Seconds), Melonie Diaz (Be Kind Rewind, The Fruitvale Station), Ellen Barkin (Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, This Boy’s Life), Dan Stevens (Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb, Downton Abbey [TV series]), Lynn Cohen (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, Munich), Fritz Weaver (All My Children [TV series], Marathon Man), and Dustin Hoffman (Kung Fu Panda, Rain Man). It is directed by Thomas McCarthy (Win Win, The Visitor). This movie follows a shoe repairman (or cobbler) in New York named Max Simkin (Sandler) who owns a shoe shop that has been passed down for several generations. Max didn’t really get it passed down to him though. He only took over when his father, Abraham (Hoffman), left him and his mother a long while ago. Days go by as usual, with Max repairing shoes and only getting to know people through the few minutes that they give him their shoes or receive their shoes. One day, however, goes much different. Max is told by a very threatening man named Leon (Method Man) to repair his shoes by the end of the day. While trying to repair the shoes soles, Max’s stitching machine breaks down and he is forced to use the one in the basement, which is probably older than the shop itself. After he sews up the soles, he waits for Leon, but he doesn’t show. Out of boredom, Max tries on Leon’s fancy shoes and to his surprise, he turns into Leon. He soon realizes that the stitch machine he used to sew the shoes is magic, which leads him to have some fun while also getting into a lot of trouble.

adam sandler and steve buschemi THE COBBLER

REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS (READ AT YOUR OWN RISK):

When I saw the trailer to this a while back, I was really interested into this story. The plotline seemed original and I am a fan of Adam Sandler’s movies even though they generally get bad reviews. After watching this movie, I can say that I am disappointed. The beginning of this movie showed so much promise. I was expecting a no-brainer comedy where I would see Adam Sandler pulling some dirty humor, but what I got was something really deep and full of drama. In a way, I really liked it. The way this story was going with how deep it was brought a lot of life into the characters and the story. It made you laugh at right times and made you feel sad in others. Once he began to see that the stitching machine was magic, it was funny to see him try it out with different pairs of shoes. It also got really down to earth with him and his mom’s bond. It just makes you sad and realize how growing up has its consequences. The acting was pretty good and I really liked the characters they had in this. I don’t know how many more times Adam Sandler will put Steve Buscemi in his movies, but it is kind of expected. All was going good, until it got towards the middle. I don’t know what the heck they were thinking. What was a deep tone that was both interesting and thoughtful to watch, became very silly. There were things that happened in the second half of the movie that will make you question all of the things that are done. I mean, I admit, it was still entertaining in Adam Sandler fashion, but it ditched what I liked about the beginning and turned to a more comedy feel which made it outrageously silly. It will actually make you laugh at how stupid and crazy some things happen. SPOILER AHEAD: Like in one scene, Max is just walking on the sidewalk when someone with a gun jumps out and pulls him into a car, trying to kill him. END OF SPOILER It then gets even more hectic from there. It made me a bit frustrated. If this movie was all about this comedy I probably would’ve brushed it off, but since they established a good and different tone of a beginning it was too hard to ignore. That would have to be the main and only con I have with this movie. It is such a shame. Especially since I remember some really good scenes from the movie. My favorite is when Max feels sorry for his mother so he stitches his father’s old shoes so he can look like him and eat dinner with his mother so she can be happy. More scenes like that would have made this movie one of my favorite Adam Sandler movies (my favorite is “Big Daddy”). But they went into a different direction that I wished they didn’t. Even though I am giving his movie a Burnt Popcorn score, I would still recommend any Adam Sandler fans to watch this because it is still an entertaining movie all around. FINAL SCORE: 70%= Burnt Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““The Cobbler”

  1. Pingback: “Pixels” | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

