“X-Men: First Class”

x-men-first-class-uk-poster

MARVEL MOVIE MADNESS REVIEW: The last on this marathon, “X-Men: First Class” stars James McAvoy (Wanted, The Last King of Scotland), Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave, Prometheus), Kevin Bacon (Apollo 13, Footloose [1984]), Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games, Silver Linings Playbook), Rose Byrne (28 Weeks Later, Insidious), Nicholas Hoult (Warm Bodies, Jack the Giant Slayer), January Jones (The Last Man on Earth [TV series], Unknown), Alex Gonzalez (Color of the Ocean, El Principe [TV series]), Jason Flemyng (Snatch., The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Zoe Kravitz (It’s Kind of a Funny Story, Divergent), Caleb Landry Jones (Contraband, Antiviral), Edi Gathegi (Gone Baby Gone, Crank), Lucas Till (Walk the Line, Stoker), Don Creech (Leon: The Professional, Good Night and Good Luck), and Glenn Morshower (Black Hawk Down, Moneyball). It is directed by Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass, Kingsman: The Secret Service). Set in the 1960’s, this prequel to the X-Men movies focuses on a young Charles Xavier (McAvoy) as he is called upon by the United States government to gather mutants to stop a man known as Sebastian Shaw (Bacon) from starting a World War III. Xavier soon runs into a man seeking revenge on Shaw for killing his mother in a concentration camp during World War II…..his name is Erik (Fassbender) who later becomes known as Magneto. Xavier recruits him and asks for his help to recruit other mutants for the government. They form a friendship as well as with their mutants recruits. They hope to stop Shaw, but it won’t be easy. He has powers and mutant friends of his own.

 x-men-first-class-movie-photo-04

This movie had some pretty big expectations to fill after reading the initial reviews for it as well as just wanting to get as good of an X-Men movie as “X-Men: Days of Future Past” or “X2: X-Men United” for that matter. After seeing all of these X-Men movies and finally seeing this one, I can say that I am satisfied. Granted, “X-Men: First Class” isn’t the biggest or best release from Fox’s X-Men vault, but it still held up well for its own and it brings quite a bit of cool aspects to the table. When it comes to plot, this movie faired pretty well. I liked how they paid homage to the first X-Men movie by playing the same beginning in this movie (with different actors of course). What this story was all about was sharing with the fans of how the X-Men came to be and really, it is both entertaining and sad at the same time. The characters in this make the movie what it is and they are all great to look at and learn more about. Actor-wise, I was definitely hoping for as good of a performance as the first movie’s actors and they pulled it off nicely. Michael Fassbender is an amazing actor and I liked his acting the most in this. You never really felt as much pain and sorrow for Magneto as you do in this movie and I really thought that they built up their characters in a more definitive way in this one. The action scenes are fantastic to watch and with technology changing and advances every year, the special effects compliment them well. I had some issues with this movie however. The first on my mind is Beast (Hoult). It’s not the biggest con, but I have to put it out there that I didn’t like Nicholas Hoult’s portrayal of the Beast that much. He was fine when he was human-like, but when he turned into his animal-form it just didn’t suit well with me. And when he would talk, it really looked fake. Another issue that I had with this movie would be how even though there are great moments in this movie, there are also lowlights. One that comes to mind is how Shawn comes over to where the mutants are held and gives them a talk. He explains that if they aren’t with him, then they are his enemies. Of course some of them don’t side with him, but yet Shaw leaves and doesn’t even kill them. That’s the thing I found trouble with in most of these X-Men movies. It’s how Hollywoodish they can be. When I say Hollywoodish I mean that some things just don’t make sense, but yet you have to go along with it anyway. It’s kind of like if you put yourself in a corner when writing a script and you don’t want it to go a certain way and the only option for it to not do that and go your way is to just put in a solution that doesn’t make sense and hope your audience just goes along with it. I will admit that other movies have done this and I will say that although I can deal with some movies that do this, I can’t deal with others. In this movie, you can look past it, but it still makes you think about how they could’ve gone a different way. I usually don’t say stuff like this for a con, but I still add it in when it comes to my scoring. I just felt like saying it on this review to put it out of my mind so I won’t have to bring it up again. It’s a minor con, that’s why I don’t bring it up as much. It does bring the quality and realism in it down however. Anyway, with that out of the way (and sorry for the long explanation), the last con I can think of is how in some spots the dialogue can seem stretched, making scenes feel slow. I noticed this when I checked the time at few (like two) points during the movie. With all that being said, I really enjoyed this movie and even though you would think I didn’t judging by the cons, I really did and I recommend anyone to watch this movie for it will entertain you! I also forgot to mention that my favorite part was the Wolverine cameo. I didn’t expect it and it ended up being the funniest scene and it is definitely mentionable!! FINAL SCORE: 83%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

Leave a Reply

