“Jurassic World”

jurassicworldposter3

FRIDAY NIGHT/MOVIE THEATER REVIEW: Sorry for this post being late, but I was away from my laptop for the whole weekend. “Jurassic World” stars Chris Pratt (Guardians of the Galaxy, Parks and Recreation), Bryce Dallas Howard (The Help, Spider-Man 3), Ty Simpkins (Insidious, Iron Man 3), Nick Robinson (The Kings of Summer, Melissa & Joey [TV series]), Irrfan Khan (Life of Pi, Slumdog Millionaire), Vincent D’Onofrio (The Judge, Full Metal Jacket), Jake Johnson (Let’s Be Cops, New Girl [TV series]), BD Wong (Jurassic Park, Mulan), Omar Sy (The Intouchables, X-Men: Days of Future Past), and Judy Greer (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, 13 Going on 30). It is directed by Colin Trevorrow (Safety Not Guaranteed, Gary: Under Crisis). The Jurassic Park island is back, but this time a new park is sitting on it: Jurassic World. Unlike Jurassic Park, this park was successful enough to become functional, having tourists from around the world visit. But, like Jurassic Park, this one ends in disaster after the park’s owner, Claire Hammond (Howard) and her scientists create a brand new dinosaur named the Idonosaur, which breaks out of its cage and wreaks havoc on the other dinosaurs and tourists. It is up to Claire and dinosaur enthusiast Owen (Pratt) to stop the Idonosuar and get everyone off of the island safely.

Jurassic World

When will we ever learn? Jurassic Park was an instant classic that mostly everyone knows and loves, especially myself. Since it has become a great hit it has spawned off quite a bit of sequels. I haven’t seen the “The Lost World”, but I have seen “Jurassic Park III” many moons ago and it was entertaining. But after that film, especially after the awful ratings it got, I wanted the series to be done for good. However, when an industry, like Universal, runs out of ideas to make a quick buck they go back to their vault of classics to see what they can recreate for a success. And in this case, it is the “Jurassic Park” franchise. I had the lowest expectations of this film, laughing at the trailer when it first came out for the thought of this even being in existence. I knew it wasn’t going to be original and I knew it was going to be very predictable. What more can you add to a story when it has already been said and done a bunch of times: people arrive on an island hoping to make a great endeavor only for everything to fall apart and become dangerous. The main characters live while supporting ones die. And why it became the highest opening gross for a movie I will never know. Maybe it’s because of Chris Pratt’s rising stardom. But enough of my rant, let me tell you what I thought. The movie was like how I thought it would be, but a little better. The plot of course is predictable most of the time, but what really makes this film remotely workable as a plot in my book is the whole “what if the island actually became a hit?” Other than that mindset everything is the same, just with different characters. The acting is solid for the most part, with Chris Pratt’s character putting the others to shame. The special effects were top-notch with great battles between dinosaur and man as well as fantastic interactions. One thing that surprised me was the Velociraptors. When I saw the trailer I thought it was nonsense to train these animals because of how they are merciless killers, but the writers did rather well with tackling the subject. I do admit, it seemed stupid at first, but it started to grow on me. Before I get into the cons, I will say one more thing about this movie: it is entertaining. Although it does have its issues, it never made me yawn or fall to sleep. I was attentive, wanting to see how it will play through even though I already knew. Now onto the cons. Like I said before, the story is predictable. There are some aspects that I don’t see coming, but overall you can figure it out just by watching the trailer or seeing the first movie. The next con would be how there really isn’t a change in characters. It all reflects the first movie: Owen is the hero who knows dinosaurs (like Dr. Alan Grant), Claire is the ignorant park owner who doesn’t see destruction on the horizon (like John Hammond), and the two kids, Gray and Zach who Owen and Claire are trying to save (like Tim and Lex Murphy). It just adds on to how this movie doesn’t have much originality to offer. Another con would be, because of how predictable it is, how I don’t really feel nervous or tense during the film other than some jump scares with the loud sound. I know the characters are going to make it out alive so there isn’t much at stake, but to watch them be scared. When it comes to other cons on the top of my head, they are rather minor, like some things not making sense. Almost every movie has that one thing that doesn’t go along with the story and when looking at an all out action movie like this, it is expected. The last minor con I have is the product placement. They have quite a bit of products they placed in this film and they even made a joke about it in the beginning like park rides being sponsored by Verizon or Samsung. It was a funny joke, but it is always a pet peeve of mine, especially when it occurs a lot. There are a ton of times where they will have a camera angle of Owen’s car pulling up to show the brand and it gets annoying. It’s subtle, but I know what they are getting at. In the end, this movie is what you would expect it to be. It’s no masterpiece, but it is entertaining and not complete garbage. I think it would serve a better experience with people watching it in the theaters because of the insane surround sound, but if you are looking for a great movie, I’d rather you rent this one and look onto another movie. The sad part of it all is they hinted at another sequel in this film and knowing how much money it will make, I’ll never see the end of dinosaurs taking over a human-populated island. FINAL SCORE: 70%= Burnt Popcorn

The score of this movie has been changed. It does not affect the 2015 Juicy Awards.

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Jurassic World”

  1. Pingback: JULY MOVIE RANKINGS | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

