“A Goofy Movie”

a goofy movie

NOSTALGIA LANE MOVIE REVIEW: The first stop on this road of nostalgia is the 90’s classic (at least for me) “A Goofy Movie” which is voiced by Bill Farmer (Surf’s Up, Over the Hedge), Jason Marsden (Loonatics Unleashed [TV series], Xiaolin Showdown [TV series]), Jim Cummings (The Lion King, Shrek), Kellie Martin (A Pup Named Scooby-Doo [TV series], Life Goes On [TV series]), Rob Paulsen (Back at the Barnyard [TV series], Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius), and Wallace Shawn (Toy Story, The Incredibles). It is directed by Kevin Lima (Tarzan [1999], Enchanted). Max (Marsden) is a teen who doesn’t want to end up being like his dad Goofy (Farmer). Mainly because of how clumsy and silly he is. So he usually distances himself from Goofy, trying to forge his own path to being “normal.” Everything seems to fall in place when his crush, Roxanne (Martin), agrees to go to a party with him over the weekend. He is ecstatic, but meanwhile his father Goofy is persuaded by his pal Pete (Cummings) to take Max on a trip to his old fishing spot so they can bond together. This happens on the same weekend as the party and Max is forced to endure a long and “goofy” road trip while feeling that Roxanne will never forgive him for leaving.

A-Goofy-Movie-a-goofy-movie-15035605-1032-768

“The perfect cast.” I wanted to start off this marathon with this film not only because Goofy is my favorite character out of the original Mickey pack, but because I remember it rather well. It’s been a long time since I have seen it and there isn’t really any distinct memory I have of actually watching it, but I always remember it being really good. That is something that scares me walking into this movie because I’d rather have the memory of it being good than watching it to find out it’s not. Thankfully, that is not the case. Sure, “A Goofy Movie” isn’t as perfect as I used to think, but it still holds up really well after all of these years. To start off with what makes this movie one of the best is how it is a family movie. I believe anyone of any age will enjoy this flick because oddly enough, it can appeal to all audiences. There were some hidden adult jokes that I caught on now which is how these animated movies should be. What made this so great was how much time it took to generate enough content for all ages so once you got old, it can still be something of worth to you. Also it is easier to get through when you are older watching it without the nostalgic factor. Pixar still pulls this off, but generic movies, like “Minions”, tend to think that fart jokes are the thing of the future. Jokes need to be witty and have some depth. They need to be quotable, and even the physical comedy should be laughable. Of course with Goofy you get that. When talking about the plot besides the age, it definitely has 90’s written all over it. From the clothing trends to the songs, I felt in a different universe even if it was cartoony. No, I haven’t grown up in the 90’s (I was born in ’98), but it was still something nice to see since TV reruns of 90’s for kids I used to watch brought me to that time of early youth. Even though it had some flaws and goofiness, this film knew when to get serious, and a little too deep a few times. Heck, they talked about putting Max up to the electric chair at one point. Not something to laugh at. With its fast-pace, this film definitely doesn’t slow down or drag, which is a good thing. It’s not too fast either, providing enough story for me to get the point and the overall lesson, which is a rather touching one. One thing that caught me off guard however was how this had musical numbers in it. I didn’t remember that. There were about five or six songs that everyone broke into. I scoffed at it in the beginning, but the more I watched, the more catchy they got. Especially the singer Tevin Campbell, who sounded like a mixture of Prince and Michael Jackson with his character Powerline. It was just an unexpected added flare that they pulled off well. Usually with a movie that brings memories, it often blinds me from seeing flaws in it. There are some flicks that I can’t stand that I used to love (“Sharkboy & Lavagirl” anyone?), but I did find a few in this film. Mainly two. The first one has to do with my tendency to nitpick movies. There are a few times where you question what happened, like in the beginning with Max talking to Roxanne on her porch. The logic of what was considered ditching her and what wasn’t in her eyes seemed too convoluted for my tastes. It provided a good laugh though and what do you expect from a movie entitle “A Goofy Movie”? The last con has to do with the animation, which I forgot to relay as what was good. First off, I want to express how great the animation is for holding up this long. Yes, it is 2D, but it has held up and I really enjoyed the change in tones of color from time to time, like the greens and blues of the motel room and the red-orange of the glove compartment of Goofy’s car, hinting at something devious. But, with this animation came many goofs (pun not intended). Small things on the screen tend to change and they are noticeable. Like when Goofy and Max stopped at a diner and Max ordered bacon and eggs. He played with the eggs a little bit and when the camera cut, his bacon was gone and his eggs looked like they have just been served to him. Then it cuts back to show the bacon on the plate and the eggs meshed together. It can drive me crazy sometimes and it draws my attention from the plot. Besides those cons however, I feel like this film exceeded my fears, in a good way, leaving me with a movie to forever hold onto as something good. I think that it is a classic and a standard to show kids. I even think adults would enjoy it if they gave it a chance. Of course my nostalgia is infused in this review, so the score may have been hiked up because of it. It is still great though! FINAL SCORE: 95%= Juicy Popcorn

This movie has been inducted into The Nostalgia Vault.

Here is the trailer:

2 responses to ““A Goofy Movie”

  1. Pingback: NOSTALGIA LANE MOVIE MARATHON: RESULTS | Juicy Reviews·

  2. Pingback: AUGUST MOVIE RANKINGS | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

