“Tomorrowland”

TL_Payoff_1-Sht_v6_Lg23

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: “Tomorrowland” stars George Clooney (Ocean’s Eleven, Gravity), Britt Robertson (Longest Ride, Dan in Real Life), Raffey Cassidy (Snow White and the Huntsman, Dark Shadows [2012]), Hugh Laurie (House M.D. [TV series], Stuart Little), Tim McGraw (The Blind Side, Four Christmases), Kathryn Hahn (The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days), Keegan-Michael Key (Key and Peele [TV series], The Lego Movie), Thomas Robinson (The Switch, The Protector), and Pierce Gagnon (Looper, Wish I Was Here). It is directed by Brad Bird (The Incredibles, The Iron Giant) who also co-wrote it with Damon Lindelof (Lost [TV series], Prometheus) and Jeff Jensen. Casey Newton (Robertson) has always been a big dreamer and plans to change the world some day. One day, she ends up getting arrested after trespassing private property. Once she leaves the police department, she finds a random pin in her belongings. When she touches it, she gets teleported to a world unlike any other. Where dreamers can actually dream big and things unimaginable can be created. This place is known as Tomorrowland. Little does Casey know that her part in it is huge, and she will be sprung into an adventure unlike any other to live up to her role.

tomorrowland-movie-image-15

Having read the bland to okay reviews and seeing as how it ended up being a “flop” at the box office, “Tomorrowland” found itself plummeting to the bottom of my expectations barrel. From the initial release of the trailer, I was expecting something monumental, something I would see in theaters. I didn’t get to see it in theaters, however, and if I did, I would be happy. That is because this movie has to be one of the most underrated pictures of this year. If being directed by Brad Bird and co-written by Damon Lindelof didn’t beckon you to watch this, the sheer soul of it should have. Maybe it was really good to me because of my low expectations, but I’ll never know. All I know right now is how much I enjoyed it. First thing to discuss is the story. The whole concept of Tomorrowland is fascinating in itself and to see it is something more. So much conflict and ideas surround this place that it was interesting to sit through from the beginning. The best part of this movie has to be the gadgets that were created there for they were awesome. What this film tries to get at is a theme that represents fate and how you can have the power to change it. Do I believe in this? I’m in the middle in terms of us changing fate or living by it, but watching this flick try to unfold that thought was fascinating nonetheless. I felt a lot of heart in this movie and I can definitely say that the acting was great. George Clooney had a fantastic performance and Britt Robertson also did a very good job. The actor that surprised me most, however, was Raffey Cassidy. She was terrific in her role and I didn’t see any problems (which are easy to find in a child performance). The script writing had tons of thought behind it and takes quite a bit of thinking to understand. It’s an out-there type of script and that’s what’s to expect, especially if it is co-written by Damon Lindelof (I mean, have you seen “Lost,” the best show of all time?). Along with the story was beautiful cinematography. Brad Bird always impresses and he outshines in this with great backdrops, camera cuts, and a sleek finish to top it off. The special effects were brilliant to add to his style and they were some of the best aspects of the film. There’s so much little details that go into it. Especially the many easter eggs in the “Blast from the Past” store. “Star Wars,” “Planet of the Apes,” Disney, and even “The Iron Giant” can be found in that little shop within memorabilia. I just loved looking at this movie. One thing that surprised me the most was how it sucked me in. Usually when a film is just okay or is average, I tend to zone out into different thoughts from time to time. Some of them are to-do lists of what I need to get done when I’m finished watching the movie. Not with this one. I found myself actually getting lost in it, and I’m glad I did, for I needed it. When talking about what is wrong with this picture, I have a specific one in mind: It can be sluggish. A lot of it consists of dialogue and thought mixed with action to speed it up, but if you are only interested in pure action and watered down dialogue, well, you’re in the wrong place. It takes a while to get to the climax. This flick also had a twist which I didn’t expect, mainly having to do with what the trailer suggested about this movie, which brings me to my last con: it hinted at seeing a spectacular place called Tomorrowland throughout and that was the point of it, but really, I only got to see some of it in the beginning and end. The rest was…well…I can’t say. It’ll spoil it. But they tackled he situation well with a great theme and twist. It just would’ve been better to promote it in the way it was carried out. Overall, this picture is definitely underrated and deserves to be talked good about. I may be one of the only ones who thinks this though, so I don’t know if I should recommend this or not. What the heck, I recommend it! Go see it sometime and give it a shot! I sure had fun. FINAL SCORE: 91%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

Leave a Reply

