“It Follows”

it-follows-(2014)-large-picture

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: “It Follows” stars Maika Monroe (The Guest, Labor Day), Keir Gilchrist (It’s Kind of a Funny Story, United States of Tara), Lili Sepe (Spork, Piper [short]), Olivia Luccardi (The Rewrite, Lady-Like), Jake Weary (Fred: The Movie, Altitude), and Daniel Zovatto (Beneath, Laggies). It is directed and written by David Robert Mitchell (The Myth of the American Sleepover, Virgin [short]). Jay Height (Monroe) has been going out with her boyfriend Hugh (Weary) for a while now and is ready to take it to the next level. Little did she know that when she reached this step in their relationship that it would come with a price. Because of getting serious with Hugh, she is now being followed by a supernatural being. It once haunted Hugh after he had a fling with a girl who had the same problem, and now he has passed down the burden to Jay. Now she must find a way to stop this follower, whether it is find another boy to pass it to or another plan, because if it reaches her, she will end up dead.

itfollows_20150223_1200x800

Inching closer to Halloween, I thought it would be in my best interest (as well as my site’s) to acquire another horror film, seeing as how I recently reviewed “The Others” and “Hocus Pocus.” By the way, I really should have made a marathon out of this so it could be more organized, but I didn’t want to hold back those reviews longer than the night I watched them. Anyway “It Follows,” a movie that I heard great things about at first, but then the reviews changed over time. And by over time I mean I found out earlier today. Nothing on Redbox was that greatly rated anyway, so what was I going to do? I didn’t know much about “It Follows” besides its ratings, but I did see a review for it a long while ago around the time it first came it. It was given an average rating, so going off of that I decided to choose it. What I can say about this film is that it is, in a way, original. I haven’t seen many movies like it (I haven’t really seen any horror films for that matter so I don’t know if this idea was done before), and it definitely held my interest most of the time. This flick delivers a very eerie tone. Everything about it is creepy. I think what does the most justice for this film in general is the fact that they don’t try to waste a good scare. The directing was rather good for the most part and in saying about the scares, what the director tries to do is pan the camera in a way that you feel something is there, but yet isn’t. It isn’t until you progress further into the movie that you actually get to see “it” in action. I’m not going to lie, this movie creeped me out. It even scared me at times because of that thing that follows Jay. In a way I commend the director for achieving this because of how much skill he put in to make me nervous. In other aspects of this picture, I will say that the acting was okay. It didn’t have any names I know (with the exception of Keir Gilchrist and Jake Weary) and they all played their part as good as a typical horror film could allow. It’s nothing fantastic, but adequate. The special effects were good although there weren’t many. The beginning scene with that girl being shown dead was rather crude though. What I found to be the main issue of this film is the fact that it is disgusting. The whole premise of it all and how to pass along this follower is gross to think and it makes me feel ill watching it. I would’ve like them to choose something less perverted because the nudity was too much. And that’s the whole gist of how to resolve this conflict. So much of this film I spent feeling contemplated. I felt bad that I may actually like this movie because of how gross it can get. It’s all silly in terms of execution the more I think about it. I wasn’t gonna give it a great score or a good score, but more of an okay score. It was still going to get a Juicy Popcorn…that is until the ending came. Good gosh, the ending was terrible! WARNING: SPOILERS IN THIS NEXT SENTENCE. Now, I want to warn you that if you plan to watch this movie, know that the conflict is never resolved. END OF SPOILER. You don’t know how frustrated I was at the ended. All the build up leading to this lousy excuse for an ending only made me think that this was all an elaborate plan to set up a sequel. With an ending like this, I was beyond angry, feeling as though I wasted my time just watching an endless cycle of a chase which leads to nowhere. How can one be fine with this ending!? What kind of writer would be okay with this!? The ending really put a damper on this movie’s score and just proves that this film isn’t that good. Other cons I found would be how stupid it gets towards the end, especially with the follower going to the pool. That’s when it shifts from eerie to all out nonsense. The last con I would have with this is the musical score. It was atrocious. I felt a vibe like “The Shining” from it, but in a way the music in “The Shining” blended more with its tone, even though I listed it as an issue in my review for it. With this, the soundtrack is obnoxious, in-your-face, and out-of-place (that rhymed, unintentional). I felt that they should have replaced it with some generic horror tunes. Overall, this was a rather sour release that had some bite to it. It has some originality, but there are still many flaws that lie within. FINAL SCORE: 60%= Burnt Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““It Follows”

  1. Pingback: OCTOBER MOVIE RANKINGS | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

