“Sicario”

sicario-poster03

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: Last night, I saw the film “Sicario,” which stars Emily Blunt (Edge of Tomorrow, The Devil Wears Prada), Benicio del Toro (The Usual Suspects, Snatch.), Josh Brolin (No Country for Old Men, Men in Black 3), Daniel Kaluuya (Kick-Ass 2, Johnny English Reborn), Victor Garber (Titanic [1997], Argo), Jon Bernthal (Snitch, The Walking Dead [TV series]), Jeffrey Donovan (Burn Notice [TV series], Hitch), and Raoul Max Trujillo (Apocalypto, Riddick). It is directed by Denis Velleneuve (Prisoners, Enemy) and is written by Taylor Sheridan (Comancheria). When FBI agent Kate Macer (Blunt) gets enlisted by the government to track down the leader of the Mexican drug cartel, all that she knows in her line of duty is put to the test as she operates on a level she has never been on before. Thrills and suspense ensue as Kate begins to realize a devastating truth about who she works for and what the details are with their objective.

Sicario

Sorry for the late posting of this review, but by the time I completed this film last night I was exhausted (not by the movie, but of the strenuous week). I’ve heard countless reviews with nothing but good things to say about this film, much of its acclaim coming from critics. I didn’t know what to expect going into this release, however, as I have never seen a trailer. Having watched this picture, my initial word to best describe it would be electrifying. Throughout movie history, stories can often be glossed over, bestowing the typical happy endings, nice characters, evil villains, and atmosphere that would be hard to find in reality. “Sicario” takes these stereotypes and tosses them out the window, leaving us with a gritty, realistic, horrifying look on what is out there in this world that most of us try to brush off since we haven’t been dealt a bad, life-threatening hand in our existence. I don’t think a film has ever given me goosebumps before. Watching the opening scene and what it escalates to left the hairs on my arms standing up, literally. I shivered at how gruesome scenes were as I am not accustomed to seeing things like this. I’ve seen quite a bit of movies that attempt to express this vibe, a recent one being “Fury.” But “Fury” doesn’t affect me on a level like “Sicario” does. This picture will broaden your scope on the world we are living in, stripping you of all the ooey-gooey, heartfelt times that other movies love to boast. Much of this film reminded me of “No Country for Old Men.” There was not one moment in this where it felt fake, not one single moment where I thought “this wouldn’t happen in real life.” That is why this story will scare a lot of people who think more into it, because of the fact that this does happen in reality. The plot itself was gripping, never having to provide an off-the-charts action scene to get the blood pumping. It’s all about suspense and the situation our main character has to tread lightly through. I loved this style of storytelling as it caught my attention and didn’t let me go until the final credits rolled. The performances in this were fantastic. Emily Blunt impressed me to a new degree in this, having seen her show off her action chops in “Edge of Tomorrow” a couple of years ago. Josh Brolin was the sly, joking character in this as he brought something different to the table since most characters in this are serious. He was great in his role. Benicio del Toro, although mostly silent for half of the film, gave a magnificent finish in his performance at the end, making his acting only second best to Emily Blunt. Everyone else who supported was really good as well, including Jon Bernthal, who surprised me with his unexpected, minor role in the second act of this movie. There weren’t many action scenes in this release, but when there were, they were great. With the action sequences came a mixture of cinematography that I have never seen before. This movie captures real light, presenting us with shots that aren’t aided by set lights to brighten the picture. Once it got close to nighttime, this came into effect in a major way. I couldn’t see some of the cast, so whenever they had to do an operation during the night, the camera was put in a night vision goggles perspective. It was interesting and fresh. The landscapes in this, although corrupt, were beautiful with many things to pick apart or gaze at in the backgrounds. Above all else in this picture, the impact is the best part. I’ll never forget the lesson that this movie taught me. In terms of cons, there weren’t many. One that I found would be how some scenes can be rather slow. This mainly has to do with some of the huge landscape scenes I discussed earlier. It is nice to see, but once there are a couple more that are long to get through, the story can slow up. Finally, my last issue would be how some plot devices are predictable. It’s not all that awful though, because no matter how much I predicted, once it happened, I was still left stunned at the consequences that came with the actions I foretold. Overall, this was a brilliant release. There is a lot to take from this and it is entertaining. If you enjoyed “No Country for Old Men,” you should check this one out. FINAL SCORE: 94%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Sicario”

  1. Pingback: January Movie Rankings | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

