“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”

harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-part-2-movie-poster-01

THE WIZARDING MARATHON OF HARRY POTTER REVIEW: The final film in this long marathon is “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2,” which stars Daniel Radcliffe (Horns, What If), Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Reader), Alan Rickman (Die Hard, Galaxy Quest), Rupert Grint (Moonwalkers, Charlie Countryman), Emma Watson (The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Noah), Robbie Coltrane (Brave, GoldenEye), Michael Gambon (Sleepy Hollow [1999], Gosford Park), Maggie Smith (The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, Downton Abbey [TV series]), Gary Oldman (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, The Dark Knight), David Thewlis (The Theory of Everything, Seven Years in Tibet), Timothy Spall (Enchanted, Secrets & Lies), Mark Williams (Father Brown [TV series], Flutter), Tom Felton (Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Against the Sun), John Hurt (Hellboy, Alien), Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech, Fight Club), Domhall Gleeson (Ex Machina, Star Wars: Episode VII- The Force Awakens), Jim Broadbent (Gangs of New York, Cloud Atlas), Ciaran Hinds (Frozen, Munich), Evanna Lynch (My Name Is Emily, It Don’t Come Easy), Julie Walters (Brave, Brooklyn), Emma Thomspon (Sense and Sensibility, Love Actually), Bonnie Wright (Before I Sleep, After the Dark), Jason Isaacs (The Patriot, Peter Pan [2003]), Warwick Davis (Star Wars: Episode VI- Return of the Jedi, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy), Oliver Phelps (Danny and the Human Zoo [TV movie], Own Worst Enemy), James Phelps (Ward 3, Patchwork), Matthew Lewis (Bluestone 42 [TV series], Me Before You), and David Bradley (Captain America: The First Avenger, The Strain [TV series]). It is directed by David Yates (The Legend of Tarzan, The Girl in the Café [TV movie]) and the screenplay is written by Steve Kloves (Racing with the Moon, Flesh and Bone). It is based on the novel of the same name by J.K. Rowling. In this final installment of the franchise, Harry Potter (Radcliffe) must track down the rest of the Horcruxes before battling Voldemort (Fiennes) in a climactic conclusion.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

The final review is here. It’s been a long marathon and I consider myself to be a champion for getting through it. I don’t mean that in the sense that these movies are bad, but rather that this is my longest marathon on my site to date. When discussing this final entry of Harry’s story, just like the last release, there isn’t a whole lot to talk about. Sure, everything comes to a massive end. Dark and light forces collide, conflicts are resolved, and a magical experience ensues one last time. Well, at least until “Fantastic Beasts” comes out. But there is a serious problem with this movie, something I will talk about once we get to the cons. I recall watching this film in theaters, and I remember my reactions clearly. This is a bittersweet movie, full of scenes that will make Harry Potter fans happy and sad, possibly causing tears, depending on how soft you are when watching films. I was upset when I first saw this, mainly for the fact that it was over. I loved this series, and I still do, and to see something that was building for several years come to an end left me distraught. Now what!? That question will be answered with the new spin-off, but until then, let’s talk about whether this picture is good or not. I’m gonna say it right out of the gate: this is my favorite of them all, beating “Half-Blood Prince” by only a point. How can that be possible, considering that I said there is a big issue this story has? My reasoning to this lies in every aspect this movie has. This flick is jam-packed with action sets, smart scenes, and resolutions that we fans have been clambering for since the first film. First, I will say that the special effects were very good. They weren’t as grand as the last film though, mainly for the fact that the dragon Harry and his friends ride looked a bit out-dated on a visual level. The acting has reached its height and I enjoyed everyone’s performance, even though Voldemort can be laughable at times with the weird moments he bestows upon us. Some more aspects of the wizarding world were discovered in this, including a deeper look at Gringott’s Bank which was cool. Hogwarts is revisited, which wasn’t even in the previous movie, only to be ripped to shreds in the final battle, a match that was amazing to witness. Of course with this battle comes death, and there is plenty of it, giving this plot a rather bleak outlook in its entirety. The death has to be some of the best parts, however, for it makes characters and scenes more impactful. I will admit that my eyes got watery during a scene where Harry realizes his true purpose in memories from someone he knows (I don’t want to spoil anything). The very ending itself was satisfying especially, crafting a conclusion that I will cherish. Now onto my issue. If you can recall from my review for part one of “The Deathly Hallows,” I ranted about how final books are split into two films, and how it isn’t necessary. I still stand by this, and this film is evidence. We don’t want a four-hour movie, I know this, but in some ways I wouldn’t mind having it that way over splitting it up. In part one, dialogue was extremely heavy. It was had more drawback than punch. In this release, part two, it is the complete opposite. Think of it is one whole film: “The Deathly Hallows Part 1” is the first two acts while “The Deathly Hallows Part 2” is the third act. Although I loved the action sequences, that’s all this film was. It was a bit too fast for my taste, as there weren’t many dialogue-filled scenes to keep it steady. It began and then it ended, all in the blink of an eye. That’s my only issue for this release. It definitely would have gotten a lower score than it did if it weren’t for those scenes that I discussed earlier that offered impact. Overall, this is a great conclusion to a fantastic franchise full of magic and wonder. I do wish that “The Deathly Hallows” was all one movie, but what am I gonna do? I could just watch them back to back I guess. Thanks J.K. Rowling for the fun series and I can’t wait until the next release! FINAL SCORE: 91%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”

  1. Pingback: January Movie Rankings | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

