“Everest” (2015)

everest movie poster

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: “Everest” stars Jason Clarke (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Lawless), Josh Brolin (Sicario, No Country for Old Men), Keira Knightley (Pirates of the Caribbean: The Black Pearl, Begin Again), Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler, Southpaw), Emily Watson (Corpse Bride, War Horse), John Hawkes (American Gangster, Lincoln), Robin Wright (Forrest Gump, The Princess Bride), Sam Worthington (Avatar, Clash of the Titans), Thomas M. Wright (The Bridge [TV series], Van Diemen’s Land), Martin Henderson (The Ring, Smokin’ Aces), Tom Goodman-Hill (The Imitation Game, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen), Naoko Mori (Torchwood, Hackers), and Michael Kelly (The Adjustment Bureau, Changeling). It is directed by Baltasar Kormakur (2 Guns, Contraband) and it is co-written by William Nicholson (Gladiator, Les Miserables [2012]) and Simon Beaufoy (Slumdog Millionaire, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire). Based on a true story, this film follows the tragedy of Mount Everest guide Rob Hall (Clarke) and his clients as they climb the mountain on May 10, 1996.

everest-2015-movie-wallpapers-hd-1366X768-desktop-01

Everyone has heard of Mount Everest. For some odd reason, I can’t even remember the first time I heard about it. It’s like it has always been embedded into my mind. The tragedy that this film portrays is a different matter. I may have heard of it in middle school, but I’m not sure. Either way, it’s a horrific one that will be hard to forget. I saw the trailer for this release last Summer along with a string of big-budget film trailers, and I was interested. The cast seemed great, with many awesome names, the visuals looked stunning, and a story surrounding Mount Everest looked entertaining. I never got to see it in theaters, and the critical reviews didn’t present much. It kind of skipped my mind once it was released. But now I have seen it, and I don’t know what to say. For one, I haven’t been taught about this event before in my life. I knew that there have been lives lost on the voyage up this behemoth of a mountain, but I didn’t know that this flick would be based on a true story. What the plot does is it sets up the beginning of what is to be the trek up Mount Everest, and then we get the trip itself, leading to the tragedy. I was captivated and entertained by the atmosphere and tone that this movie presented, but what I think lacked in this production was a tight script. Everything felt loose, with many directions going at once. That ties into the fact that there are several characters who are focused on in this film. With many great names like Jake Gyllenhaal, Josh Brolin, Jason Clarke, and Keira Knightley I would think that I would be in for a show. Although they performed expertly, it basically suffered what “The Martian” did. There were several side characters that took up screen time, most of whom I didn’t know the names of until they were mentioned by the main characters a bunch of times during the time of crisis. It drew me away from building with these figures, the only person remaining to develop being Jason Clarke’s character. I didn’t know who was the main character at times either. Off of my main concern, the visual effects were brilliantly crafted. The snow storms, the mountain camera shots, everything that involved special effects were great. I could feel myself getting cold watching this, and I could feel the pain that these characters were suffering when being succumbed by the wind and ice. It was an achievement. Something I didn’t account for in this release is how sad it is. I knew that someone would die. I mean, you should. I just didn’t expect the sheer impact of it all. I mentioned how characters were an issue, but their conflict was something to get upset over. Watching a man fall off a mountain or laying in the snow dead gave me the creeps and brought down my mood. I don’t want to sound like a wuss, but this was a really depressing film towards the end. I am still reeling from it, and I will most likely not watch it again. When talking about other cons, the only one I can think of is that this movie can be predictable. Like I said before, I figured that someone would die, but I don’t count that. It’s common sense. I count the fact that I knew who would specifically be lost. Mind you, I haven’t read the true story, so I didn’t have knowledge of who would or wouldn’t die. In the end, this was an eye-opening experience. It does have its flaws, but it definitely left me changed. It’s a one-time experience for me, and I will remember it. FINAL SCORE: 87%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Everest” (2015)

  1. Pingback: February Movie Rankings | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

