“Room” (2015)

room-movie-poster-01-972x1440

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: “Room” stars Brie Larson (21 Jump Street [2012], Short Term 12), Jacob Tremblay (The Smurfs 2, Before I Wake), Sean Bridgers (Sweet Home Alabama, The Woman), Joan Allen (The Bourne Ultimatum, Face/Off), William H. Macy (Fargo [1996], Wild Hogs), and Tom McCamus (The Sweet Hereafter, A Man in Uniform). It is directed by Lenny Abrahamson (Frank, What Richard Did) and written by Emma Donoghue (Pluck [Short]). The film follows a woman (Larson) and her son, Jack (Tremblay), as they live life in a room, hidden away from the outside world. This woman was kidnapped at the age of seventeen, and she has longed for escape. Her child has never seen the world for what it is, as he believes that all there is in life is the room. Their bond will take them on a journey to get out of the room and back to society.

I just need to watch something stupid and kiddy right now…maybe that will lighten my mood. Hey guys, I’m the Juicy Reviewer, and I recently watched “Room,” one of the most depressing films that I have seen in my life. Why would I watch a movie that is sad? I don’t know, probably because of its critical acclaim. The Oscars usually eat this dramatic, gloomy stuff right up. So, in case you didn’t take a hint from the summary above, this release is about a woman and her kid adapting to a world that the kid is unfamiliar with and the mom has been wanting to get back to for seven years. Films about torture or captivity don’t sit well with me; they never have. Seeing someone fight for their life to flee from a depressing situation is not fun to sit through, especially when that situation happens to be a woman stuck in a shed with the son she had with her captor. From the opening of this movie to the end, my mood was brought down to an all-time low. I was gloomy, sad, and upset at the world for almost two hours. This isn’t a movie that I would see again. Never. But with that said, I have to state that this film was fantastically made. The acting was terrific. Almost all of the performances in this feature felt real, organic. Both of our leads, Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay, were outstanding in this release. I could feel the tormented, depressed energy emanating from Larson and Tremblay put on quite a show, especially when he is such a young kid. He did a great job, and I was shocked by his skill. The directing of this was haunting, with many angles giving us a realistic, grounded look on where our characters are and how horrible their problem is, before and after the room. It was quite the achievement to get a lot of charisma out of one small room. When we talk about the story, that is where I have a problem. Not technically, but emotionally. In all honesty, the writing of this flick was amazing. There weren’t many plot holes (maybe one involving what happened to the kidnapper, or the unresolved conflict between the woman and her father) and the humanization of our characters and the people around them was so life-like and deep that I could understand what they were going through, even though I never had this experience. I thought the touch of Tremblay’s occasional narration was interesting, and offered perspective on the way he thought about what was happening to him. It was innocent, and presented some lightness to this heavy plot. I admit to saying that I was invested into what I was seeing, captivated even, which gives reason to my great scoring for it. The problem I found with this, however, is how much I didn’t like watching it. From a movie connoisseur’s standpoint, I loved seeing it, but from a moviegoer viewpoint, I didn’t like what I saw. Every moment of this feature was dark and droopy, and I felt bummed out in being a part of the experience. You will never find a film more saddening (maybe, I’m just exaggerating a bit). I don’t mean to sound like a wuss, but I don’t watch films to feel awful on the inside; not in this sense. I give props for it being impactful, but the rewatchability on this thing is low. That issue may only resonate in me, though, and if you want to see it, then go ahead. It has several great things about it besides how it makes me feel. If you aren’t into gloomy, depressing films, I would tell you to avoid it at all costs. Overall, this movie had several great qualities. I just didn’t enjoy the subject matter. FINAL SCORE: 90%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Room” (2015)

  1. Pingback: March Movie Rankings | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

