“Captain America: Civil War”

captain-america-civil-war-main-poster

FRIDAY NIGHT/MOVIE THEATER REVIEW: “Captain America: Civil War” stars Chris Evans (Snowpiercer, Before You Go), Robert Downey Jr. (The Judge, Tropic Thunder), Sebastian Stan (The Martian, Black Swan), Scarlett Johansson (Lucy, Her), Anthony Mackie (The Hurt Locker, Million Dollar Baby), Don Cheadle (Hotel Rwanda, Crash), Chadwick Boseman (42, Get on Up), Elizabeth Olsen (Godzilla [2014], Martha Marcy May Marlene), Paul Bettany (A Beautiful Mind, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World), Jeremy Renner (The Bourne Legacy, American Hustle), Paul Rudd (Dinner for Schmucks, Anchorman), Tom Holland (The Impossible, In the Heart of the Sea), Emily VanCamp (Everwood [TV series], Revenge [TV series]), Daniel Bruhl (The Bourne Ultimatum, Inglorious Basterds), William Hurt (Into the Wild, A History of Violence), Frank Grillo (Minority Report [2002], Warrior), Martin Freeman (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Hot Fuzz), Marisa Tomei (The Wrestler, The Lincoln Lawyer), and Stan Lee (Spider-Man [2002], Avengers: Age of Ultron). It is directed by Joe and Anthony Russo (Captain America: The Winter Soldier, You Me and Dupree), and the screenplay is written by Christopher Markus (Pain & Gain, Thor: The Dark World) and Stephen McFeely (You Kill Me, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe). After previous cataclysmic events which shaped the Avengers’ career as the earth’s protectors are put under a microscope, the United Nations have decided to initiate a document which will force heroes to give up their identities and work for them, answering to their call in order to feel safe. There are people who feel as though superheroes should be put in check, including Tony Stark (Downey Jr.), who signs up the first chance he gets. Others follow, but Steve Rogers (Evans) does not comply, as it goes against everything he stands for, and will stop at nothing to keep his freedom and try to save his rogue friend, Bucky Barnes (Stan), along the way.

captain-america-civil-war-movies-HD

I can’t begin to tell you how long I have waited to see this: “Captain America: Civil War.” It has built quite an anticipation, being my number one movie to see this year, and now I have finally seen it! Ever since I heard about this film, I read the comic, many articles, and watched behind the scenes footage leading up to this moment. It’s difficult to say this, but I don’t think that I have ever been this invested into a Marvel release before. I was eager for a fantastic experience, one that would blow me away like “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” did as well as “The Avengers,” if I was lucky enough. I had such high hopes, but of course that always spells trouble. In watching this movie, I had several mixed feelings. Everything we have seen thus far from Marvel has culminated together for this event in which we see our heroes clash over whether to sign up to be controlled by the government or not. From the very beginning, we are thrusted into this story. No logos, no background music; just a quick start to a rather murky adventure. Although it has Cap’s name on it, this film felt a lot like it was Bucky’s, as he was essentially the focus of the entire plot. Sure, there were other conflicts, and Cap did get more screen time, but this was Bucky’s moment. In the beginning of this, I was rather nervous at the fact that this flick may in fact be not as good as I thought it would. Filled with a few great action sequences (all of which I loved), the beginning was awfully slow, and reeked of dialogue that could either have a fan invested or turn away an average moviegoer. I was kind of in between. I wanted the intensity that “The Winter Soldier” brought, in that you can’t trust no one and you always have to look over your shoulder. This release was rather somber in what was said, but it was impactful nonetheless. It definitely has some heavy drama, and I couldn’t help but feel like it wouldn’t be what it was cracked up to be, at least in my mind. And that’s basically what happened. I thought that overall this was a great release, but it fell short of my expectations. Let me break down this film into its juicy bits. First off, the action was amazing. All the action sequences were awesome and a blast to see unfold. By far, the best scene was the beloved airport sequence. Everyone brawling was a sight to see, and I could watch it several times and still retain the excitement and joy I had in the first go-around. Whoever did the stunt work is a master. Secondly, the acting was great. We’ve all seen these actors before, and although some may be a little off the marker when compared to the big names, they all held their own. It was nice to see someone back from “The Incredible Hulk,” that being General Ross (Hurt), as he did a swell job. As for the two newbies, Spider-Man (Holland) and Black Panther (Boseman), it couldn’t get any better. I wouldn’t say that Black Panther stole the show, but Chadwick Boseman did play him greatly, and his role was strong. I would really like to see a “Black Panther” movie once it comes out. Spider-Man was definitely a treat, and one of the best parts of this film. Tom Holland killed it, and it was a pleasure to see him perform and interact with the characters Spider-Man should’ve been with a long time ago. Moving on, we get to the meat of the story. Say what you will about the flow of the plot, but I must give credit to the writers for balancing out everyone. All of the characters got the necessary time to shine in the spotlight, and they were all worked on well. I liked how Ant-Man was written in this better than how he was in his own film. I got to learn a few things from each individual, and build with them more. The chemistry amongst the cast was also fun, especially between Captain America and Iron Man, who were the driving force of this. Their inner struggles and how they handle the new registration is what this film is all about. The story had its charisma, charm, and laughs, and I found it to be a good night out by the end. I would say that towards the very end, it did get emotional (although I predicted some of it), and my heart was racing. As the film built and built it grew stronger. Now we get into the cons. I was hoping that I would find few, but alas, this one isn’t nearly as perfect as I thought it would be. For one, the villain of this is rather shaky. I feel as though most of the conflict should’ve been put on Captain America and Iron Man, which it was, but flipping back to Barron Zemo (Bruhl) interrupted the flow quite a bit. The actor was fine, just not the character. Knowing that he may be in “Black Panther” furthers my reasoning that he was put in this just to build on his character for another release. Another problem I found, like I said before, is the beginning. The beginning is rough. So much dialogue and build up happens, yet it throws us right into the pit from the get-go. This movie definitely takes some prior watching of the Marvel releases that came out before this one, and I feel as though I should’ve rewatched some in order to get into my Marvel flow (if that makes sense). It would’ve made the transition into this one smoother, instead of crashing us against a story that we need to cling onto first in the beginning. I will say though, after watching it, I began to like the dialogue they had in the beginning. It paved the way for many of our characters and helped develop them on an appropriate level. It just needs some prior film watching in order to jump right in. Finally, my last complaint would have to be a few nitpicks and random thoughts here and there. One of them would be the introduction of Peter Parker. I thought it was funny and cool to see, but it felt a bit random since they never hinted at him in the entire first half of the release. I can see why the writers wouldn’t have time to do so, however, because there is a lot of ground to cover, so I won’t mark it off too much. In the end, I found this movie to be really good, even great. It just didn’t match my expectations, but then again, what does? It’s always hard for something to reach high expectations. Compared to an earlier superhero flick I saw, “Batman v. Superman,” this one takes the cake for sure. It was able to balance all its subplots and characters masterfully, and didn’t buckle under its own weight. It was an entertaining Marvel installment to see. FINAL SCORE: 92%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

 

One response to ““Captain America: Civil War”

  1. Pingback: MAY MOVIE RANKINGS | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

