“Alien”

Alien (1979) Original

THE ALIEN ACID-FUELED REVIEW: “Alien” stars Tom Skerritt (Top Gun, Picket Fences [TV series]), Sigourney Weaver (Avatar, Vantage Point), Veronica Cartwright (The Birds, Invasion of the Body Snatchers), Harry Dean Stanton (The Green Mile, The Avengers), John Hurt (Hellboy, V for Vendetta), Ian Holm (Ratatouille, The Fifth Element), and Yaphet Kotto (Live and Let Die, The Running Man). It is directed by Ridley Scott (Gladiator, Blade Runner) and is written by Dan O’Bannon (Total Recall [1990], Invaders from Mars) and Ronald Shusett (Freejack, Above the Law). After a merchant ship receives a distress signal from an unknown planet, the crew performs an investigation to see what it is. Little do they know what is really lurking on the planet, and how dangerous it actually is.

Alien-1979-Wallpaper-3

“In space, no one can hear you scream.” I have finally seen “Alien,” the film that will jumpstart this marathon. It’s considered a classic among many and a staple for sci-fi movies alike, and boy, did I have high expectations! Sliding in the disk to my Blu-ray player, I anticipated a thriller unlike no other. As you all know, I am not the horror fan, so in watching this, I knew what I was up against. But, nothing could’ve made me even happier than seeing this film. It has to be one of the best sci-fi movies I have ever seen. I know, that’s a big statement, but it is true. Nothing could have been more original or well-played out than this. Breaking it down for the review, let’s study the story. Like I said, this release is original, and the story wasn’t short of originality. Even though I had an idea of what would happen, considering how much people have talked about it on the Internet, it was still inventive. The situation this crew was in and how we sat in the backseat to see it all unfold was stunning. From the moment they landed on that desolate planet to the last minutes of this adventure, I was hooked, scared, and intrigued. It was made up of all the things us sci-fi geeks love to feast on: space, planets, and aliens. I will tell you, I knew what would happen minutes before they did most of the time throughout this plot, but I still enjoyed the heck out of it. The characters are next to look at, and they are quite the bunch. Something I commend the writers of this movie on is giving our characters small names. I remember all of them, which is something I am not good at when it comes to films. Ripley, Ash, Dallas, Parker, Lambert, Brett, and Kane. All of them are portrayed by great actors as I could feel the fear seeping out of them in their dire situation. They are all unique and interesting, my favorite being Ripley (of course it would be). Not only is this well-acted, but it is also masterfully directed. Thank you Ridley Scott! The man is a genius! This flick had some of the longest shots for any movie, and that may be exaggerated because of how Scott left me on the edge of my seat in many scenes. He loves to leave the viewer hanging on a thread in the most dire sequences, which in turn builds suspense. I loved the directing in this, because it sucked me in and brought fear out of me at times. The visual effects are next in line, and I will tell you that they surprised me. For a movie released in 1979, it actually had great special effects. What saved it was how most of them were practical. The ship looked to be a small model that they made look big (like “Star Wars”) and most of it was shot inside. Sure, some shots in space looked outdated, including the planet they were to land on, but that didn’t take up most of the time, and I don’t take too much off of a film for that. Especially being that it was made in 1979. The alien itself was freaky. Yes, I knew what it looked like before I watched it, but the way the film crew created it and executed it in action was awesome. Some scenes where it showed its whole body were crude (like someone was in a costume), but most of its shots were closeups, and they were great. It was gross to see its saliva drip onto its victims, and that extra mouth it has is insane. To see it wreck into some of our space crew was admittedly cool, even though it can be horrifying. With all of my pros stated, we come upon the issues. Honestly, it was hard to find any. My biggest strife would have to be how predictable it is. I don’t know if it’s because I have heard about the film already, but I feel like if I knew nothing about it, I could still have an idea of how it would play out. There were some scenes where they were begging to show the result of them, an example being when the crew explores the spacecraft they found on the desolate planet they landed on. It felt like all those parts needed to finish them off is a line like “what could go wrong?” But I stated earlier in my review that although this happened, I still enjoyed the flick. There were scenes where I was scared guys. My last con would be an aspect that was explored in Ash. I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t seen it, but there is something up with Ash that felt randomly thrown in, even though the purpose of it was necessary to the storyline. That’s it guys, all of my problems with it. Not many. In the end, I recommend anyone who hasn’t seen this to watch it. It is a fantastic sci-fi film that definitely earns its classic stature. FINAL SCORE: 97%= Juicy Popcorn

This movie has been inducted into The Juicy Hall of Fame.

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Alien”

  1. Pingback: MAY MOVIE RANKINGS | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

