“Aliens”

Aliens-1986-Poster

THE ALIEN ACID-FUELED REVIEW: “Aliens” stars Sigourney Weaver (Vamps, Chappie), Carrie Henn, Michael Biehn (The Terminator, The Abyss), Lance Henriksen (Dark Reel, Dying God), Paul Reiser (Whiplash [2014], Mad About You [TV series]), Bill Paxton (Edge of Tomorrow, Apollo 13), Janette Goldstein (Terminator 2: Judgment Day, Titanic [1997]), and William Hope (Captain America: The First Avenger, Sherlock Holmes [2009]). It is directed by James Cameron (Avatar, Titanic [1997]), who also wrote it with David Giler (Southern Comfort, The Money Pit) and Walter Hill (Red Heat, Blue City). Fifty-seven years after the events of the first film, Ripley (Weaver) wakes up to find that the planet that held those deadly aliens she and her crew fought has been inhabited by humans, unaware of what disastrous things live there. When the people inhabiting the planet stop checking into the government’s base, they begin to worry that something has happened there, and send Ripley and a new crew to investigate.

Aliens-1986

We push on to the first sequel of this franchise, “Aliens.” From what I have heard about the “Alien” films, most of them aren’t good. To be honest, I wouldn’t blame them. What more could you do to the story that seemed like it should’ve been told once? Well, my worries were washed away when I saw this movie. Directed by James Cameron, who brought us “The Terminator” and “Avatar,” this film’s story knew what it was. It didn’t try to reinvent the wheel, but instead expand upon it, upping the stakes, the action, and the character development of Ripley. From the moment I pressed play until the very end, I was in awe at how good this flick was. Sure, it didn’t reach the status of “Alien,” but it did gave it a run for its money. The plot of this whole thing was same-old-same-old, but with a couple new additions. For one, the planet that held the alien which killed Ripley’s crew has been colonized, using a machine that can bring safe amounts of oxygen to the air. I had to give props to Cameron, who also wrote this, for it was a clever idea. Knowing how stupid these people are for living on this planet is what fueled my fear of Ripley visiting it again, and the crew of this film gave me a scare at times. I was actually left with goosebumps during one scene in which Ripley stumbles upon the queen alien, realizing how massive and freaky the thing looks. The characters of this release were pretty good. None were fleshed out as much as Ripley, but I still found them all to be entertaining and was hoping for them to make it out alive. One of my favorite side characters had to be Bill Paxton’s. For some reason, the guy was just fun to watch. It may be his accent or the fact that he shows how scared he is rather than playing Mr. Cool Guy. It was Ripley though, who was my favorite character. The story did a fantastic job at building on her personality and her drive, as I rooted for her to get the job done. Sigourney Weaver had a great performance, and she fooled me into thinking she was scared for her life. Heck, they all did. Who wouldn’t be, considering that they landed on a planet full of those aliens, where only one took out almost a whole crew in the first film? One thing I have to congratulate this movie’s crew on is the special effects. Most of this release has held up, and quite a lot of the effects were actually great. The aliens were terrifying and I couldn’t see string holding them up or them being just a guy in a suit this time (no offense, “Alien,” you did a good job most of the time). This planet that the crew landed on was foreboding, eerie, and creepy, and I don’t know how they manipulated it to look like an actual planet. It looked stunning. Something I also have to mention is the effects used on Bishop, the only A.I. that’s onboard. I won’t spoil anything, but towards the end, something happens to Bishop, and I have no clue as to how Cameron and his crew pulled it off to make it look realistic. It was insane. It was probably my favorite visual effect that took place. So many great components made up this entertaining story. I had fun and was interested in everything that was going on, but there were some issues nonetheless. My main concern revolves around the fact that this plot can feel almost the same as in “Alien.” From the crew wanting to do research on the aliens to the almost identical ending in terms of how they got rid of the alien, there were quite a bit of similarities. Some of them could’ve been altered, but as a whole, it didn’t bother me too much. That’s probably because of how this is a sequel, and hardly any sequels can top the original, let alone give us a fresh story. The thing that made this plot work though was how they infused fresh ideas into an old one. If they didn’t do this, then I would’ve given it a much lower score than I am now. That’s pretty much my only problem with this movie. There may be a few nitpicks, but in general this film did a great job in the acting, special effects, and story department. It kept me entertained and I would consider it to be just short of a classic. I recommend anyone who likes “Alien” to check this one out. FINAL SCORE: 93%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Aliens”

  1. Pingback: MAY MOVIE RANKINGS | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

