“Deadpool”

Deadpool-Poster

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: “Deadpool” stars Ryan Reynolds (R.I.P.D., Self/Less), Morena Beccarin (Homeland [TV series], V [TV series]), T.J. Miller (Big Hero 6, How to Train Your Dragon), Ed Skrein (The Transporter Refueled, Ill Manors), Stefan Kapicic (Tears for Sale, Laron izbor [TV series]), Brianna Hildebrand (First Girl I Loved, Prism), Gina Carano (Haywire, Fast & Furious 6), Karon Soni (Goosebumps [2015], Safety Not Guaranteed), Jed Rees (Galaxy Quest, The Ringer), and Stan Lee (Spider-Man 2, Avengers: Age of Ultron). It is directed by Tim Miller (Rockfish [short], Aunt Luisa [short]) and is written by Rhett Reese (Zombieland, G.I. Joe: Retaliation) and Paul Wernick (Zombieland, G.I. Joe: Retaliation). After being diagnosed with cancer, Wade Wilson (Reynolds) searches for a way to cure himself so he can be with his girlfriend, Vanessa (Beccarin). This search leads him on a dangerous path as he is soon tortured and tested to transform himself into a mutant, ridding himself of his cancer and thus becoming the merc with a mouth, Deadpool.

DEADPOOL

“Deadpool”: the movie that comic book and superhero fans alike have been praising and giving money to for the past couple of months. I can’t tell you how much I’ve been hearing about this film since it has been released; so much so that I had to see it. That’s not to say that I wouldn’t see this movie otherwise. I have nothing against it. I just wasn’t completely blown away by the trailers like most people and don’t know too much about the character, other than the fact that he is comedic and breaks the fourth wall many times. So, in watching this I had no expectations, as I had only a vague clue as to what I was getting into. That clue ended up being true, as this is unlike any superhero film I have ever seen. It is raunchy, action-packed, and filled with clichés (which it makes fun of); all of which I enjoyed watching for the most part. It’s nothing children should see, but adults and comic book fans will get a kick out of it because it does offer some good entertainment, and I’ll tell you why. Something that the makers of this movie definitely deserve praise for is bringing Wade Wilson to his true form. This sticks close to how Deadpool should be (as I am told and from what I have read), and it washes away the monstrosity that was his former being in “X-Men Origins: Wolverine,” which it shamelessly brings up nonchalantly, by the way. I enjoyed the character and Ryan Reynolds did a fantastic job in portraying him. I’m glad to see him strike gold in a feature after this long, as I do like seeing him perform and feel sorry for his many bombs at the box office. Everyone else did a good job as well, even though some of the characters were caricatures of the typical hero flick. When talking about the plot, you basically get the origin story treatment. We learn of how Wade Wilson became Deadpool and how he got his revenge. It’s a fun adventure to see unfold, and the writers found a good way to balance both comedy and seriousness (yes folks, it does have some drama). It grounded the character instead of making him just a comic relief, and I could understand what the man was going through. Besides the storyline, the action sequences in this were awesome and did not hold back with the gore. It was different to see when compared to the PG-13 action I see in Disney’s releases or even Fox’s “X-Men” movies. The special effects that came with those scenes, including the work with Colossus (Kapicic), was done masterfully, as the CGI was really good. That along with the cinematography gave this plot its own uniqueness and it will offer a thrill ride that I’m sure no viewer will forget. Although I did have a fun time in seeing this, I will say that there are issues. For one, this story is incredibly clichéd. Yes, it’s the one huge aspect that Deadpool makes fun of to the audience, but that should not be an excuse in crafting an original plot. Like I said before, some of the characters felt more like caricatures, including the villain (which the opening credits called “British villain” respectively). He was your basic bad guy who just wanted to do bad things and did a horrible job at keeping himself alive (seriously, he couldn’t defend himself against Deadpool most of the time). Lastly, this movie had many scenes I didn’t take kindly to, mostly the sex and nudity sequences. If you like that kind of stuff, good for you, I’m just not that type of guy. Not only did they have one, but many sex scenes, all of which I looked away from because they can get pretty graphic. In the end, I thought that this release was entertaining. There were memorable moments and jokes, and I had a fun time watching it. I wouldn’t say that I was in awe the whole time like Deadpool fans would be, for the story isn’t really spectacular, but I had a good time, and I guess that’s all you can get with a film like this. If you are old enough and a comic book fan, I’d recommend you to check this out. FINAL SCORE: 89%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““Deadpool”

  1. Pingback: June Movie Rankings | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

