“The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water”

spongebob

MOVIE REVIEW: “The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water” stars Antonio Banderas (Shrek 2, Desperado) with the included voices of Tom Kenny (Johnny Bravo [TV series], CatDog [TV series]), Bill Fagerbakke (The Artist, Coach), Rodger Bumpass (Monsters Inc., Toy Story 2), Mr. Lawrence (Rocko’s Modern Life [TV series], The SpongeBob Squarepants Movie), Clancy Brown (The Shawshank Redemption, Lost [TV series]), Carolyn Lawrence (The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius [TV series], The Wild), Jill Talley (Little Miss Sunshine, The Boondocks [TV series]), and Dee Bradley Baker (American Dad! [TV series], Avatar: the Last Airbender [TV series]). It is directed by Paul Tibbitt (SpongeBob Squarepants [TV series]). Just another average day occurs at the Krusty Krab as Plankton (Mr. Lawrence) tries to steal the Krabby Patty formula again. SpongeBob (Kenny), is able to get to him in time to stop him, but while they are fighting over the formula, it mysteriously disappears. They don’t know what happened to it and because the town of Bikini Bottom is so reliant on Krabby Patties in their daily lives they begin to go crazy, starting an apocalypse. SpongeBob and Plankton are blamed for it and are hunted down, and they realize the only way to fix this is to team up and find the Krabby Patty formula to clear their names and restore peace to Bikini Bottom.

mr-krabs-squidward-sandy-patrick-and-spongebob-on-The-Spongebob-Squarepants-Movie-Sponge-out-of-Water

I’ve been watching SpongeBob Squarepants (the show) for as long as I can remember. I also remember how thrilled I was when they released the first movie, which was fantastic by the way. Since then, the show hasn’t been getting the best reviews and people don’t like it as much as they used to. I still like it, but I do admit that it has lost its touch over the years. With this movie I feel that some of that charisma and funniness has found its way back to the SpongeBob universe. The story was….well, even though it was based on something that has been done several times on the show (Plankton trying to steal the formula, and failing), it still had its own cards on the table. It showed an aspect I have never seen before, with it actually detailing Bikini Bottom’s reliance on the Krabby Patty. And it was funny. It made me laugh quite a bit and what was good was that it included some hidden adult humor in it like the show’s earlier episodes had, which people loved it for. It was also crazy and out there, but oddly enough I enjoyed it. One new character I must mention is Bubbles, the dolphin. I won’t go into details of what the character does, but I will say that I laughed at almost all the scenes he was in because they were so random. The animation was beautiful, with a much sleeker look of the show in its original cartoon form and a very well-done take with its 3D-animated counterpart. I was glad that most of this movie wasn’t in 3D animation like it promoted heavily in the trailers because it is way better in its cartoon form. There are some issues I have with this movie though. The first would be Antonio Banderas’s character, Burger Beard. He showed up in the beginning of the movie and most of his scenes weren’t needed at all. There were some funny parts he had, but overall his whole character wasn’t needed until the end. The second, and last, con I have are some of the jokes can be corny. I don’t mean the ones I laughed at. This movie had a lot of “jokes” in it, but there were quite a bit of them that didn’t make me laugh. One joke was rehashed a lot in the movie. I won’t say which one it was, but you’ll know once you see it. It was funny the first time until they repeated it three more times. Overall, this is an enjoyable movie that kids will love and parents can have some reasons to get a kick out of it. It wasn’t as good as the first, but it was good. Final Score: 86%= Juicy Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

Leave a comment