“The LEGO Batman Movie”

FRIDAY NIGHT MOVIE REVIEW: “The LEGO Batman Movie” is voiced by Will Arnett (Arrested Development [TV series], Hot Rod), Michael Cera (Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, Juno), Rosario Dawson (Zookeeper, Sin City), Ralph Fiennes (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, The Grand Budapest Hotel), Zach Galifianakis (The Hangover, Masterminds [2016]), Jenny Slate (Zootopia, Obvious Child), Hector Elizondo (Last Man Standing [TV series], The Princess Diaries), and a wide variety of famous stars. It is directed by Chris McKay (Robot Chicken [TV series], Moral Orel [TV series]) and written by Seth Grahame-Smith (Dark Shadows [2012], Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter), Chris McKenna (Community [TV series], Spider-Man: Homecoming), Erik Sommers (Crank Yankers [TV series], American Dad! [TV series]), Jared Stern (Wreck-It Ralph, The Internship), and John Wittington (The LEGO Ninjago Movie, When We First Met). Batman (Arnett) faces his most difficult challenge yet in this parody of the caped crusader: loneliness. After fighting bad guys does nothing to fill the empty space in his heart, Batman is constantly told by his butler to search for a new family. However, this may prove as a distraction when the Joker (Galifianakis) plots a dastardly plan to rule Gotham.

The second LEGO film to hit the big screen, “The LEGO Batman Movie” sought to excite audiences with its beautiful cinematography, great voice acting, and jokes that poked fun at the caped crusader. I was pumped to see this. The trailers looked good and I enjoyed the feel that “The LEGO Movie” gave, so I was up for another outing with the small pieces of plastic. Unfortunately, this endeavor wasn’t so sweet, as the story was rather dull and the jokes fell flat more times than not. Sitting down to watch this, the feature started out strong, with Will Arnett commentating during the opening credits which leaked into Batman’s first take-down of the movie. It was fast-paced and funny, giving small introductions to several villains as well as a few figures of Gotham. I was impressed thus far and enjoyed what I was watching. It wasn’t until Joker thought up his master plan that things began to dive off the deep end. Granted, the story “The LEGO Batman Movie” presents is original, aside from Batman’s loneliness, and I give the writers props for that. It’s hard to come up with new Batman stories that don’t pull from ones in the past for these filmmakers. However, the funniness eventually subsided, leaving me with a severely slow plot that took more time focusing on creating Batman a new family rather than a witty, bright adventure of proportions that felt as epic as it looked (notice how I worded that, because this movie is bloated with several things). I was already tired to begin with when I started watching this, and the story didn’t give that much to keep me awake for towards the end; the part where I was nodding off like crazy. I don’t blame the film for me falling asleep, but I do blame it for not keeping my interest. Besides certain characters that were introduced, specifically villains, the storyline was predictable, and the fun times with Batman were restrained to only a few moments. I laughed at certain parts, more so at the first act than anything. There are certainly moments to quote and wicked animation to remember. I loved the style of this as I did with “The LEGO Movie”; it makes things fun and entertaining, which served this movie well in its really dry moments. However, it doesn’t fully forgive the story. This is a long film for being animated, clocking in at a little over two hours, and it shows. My gosh, I’m sure that specific scenes could’ve been cut to create a smoother flow and a faster pace. I’m not all for a terribly fast animated movie (or any form of film for that matter), but this plot definitely needed some juice to grease up the wheels. Aside from great voice acting, some good jokes, and amazing animation, there isn’t much to be found in “The LEGO Batman Movie,” which is sad to say. I was disappointed, though this isn’t a terrible release. It still has its charm, but the story doesn’t bank on it enough to make the adventure more interesting. This left me with a sour taste in my mouth and at least twenty minutes of these hours asleep. Other people have different opinions on this matter, as I’ve heard nothing but greatness. I may be an odd one out (along with some of my family that viewed it), so if you are interested in seeing it, give it a shot and see what you think. FINAL SCORE: 69%= Burnt Popcorn

Here is the trailer:

One response to ““The LEGO Batman Movie”

  1. Pingback: July Movie Rankings | Juicy Reviews·

Leave a Reply

